Hiatus

31 Aug

I can’t quite believe my fingers are typing this … I hate the way that my brain sees this post as a failure.

drowning in plays

Today I decided to take a little break from this project. There is way too much stress and pressure in my life right now with deadlines flying thicker than the crows in our garden (yes, they have taken over and the lorikeets I loved have found other places to visit, where they won’t be assaulted).

In the space of three weeks I have seven high profile speaking engagements. Those of you who know me will know that I am a good public speaker but that I fall to pieces with nerves before getting up on stage. Vomiting, insomnia and 24-hour panic attacks are some of the usual symptoms. The only thing that helps is masses of preparation. Preparation that I’m not managing to do with a job, a PhD, grant applications and a play a day to read.

Something has to give. My family decided it shouldn’t be them and I’ve decided it shouldn’t be my health or sanity, so I’m taking a breather. A hiatus. A pause.

It won’t be for long. I just need to get through these next few weeks and then I should be ready to go again.

I hope you’ll be less hard on me than I am on myself and that you’ll forgive me calling this 365 plays even if they’re read over a slightly longer period than I intended. I have managed to read a play a day for 162 days straight and hopefully I’ll come back refreshed and ready for the next 203.

Thanks for reading and for your support.

I’ll be back soon. Promise.

 

6 Responses to “Hiatus”

  1. Valerie foley August 31, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Aside from the fact I will miss my daily dose of you, I think hiatuses (hiati) are fabulous ways to avoid vomit and panic attacks. Never mind an excuse for a big alcoholic drink or two.

    Speak well, as I know you will.

  2. Kate Foy August 31, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Not failure but a very smart move and, congratulations, you haven’t fallen prey to the ‘superwoman syndrome.’ Rest and re-create. x

    • Margery Forde August 31, 2011 at 11:34 am #

      I love your play blog. You’ve inspired me to read many more plays! I intend to print out your list and read all of them. I totally understand the vomiting, sleeplessness and panic thing. Have a good break! You deserve it. xxxx

  3. Elle August 31, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Congratulations Katherine! You must be so proud of yourself for seeing this before you were in the middle of it or too far gone. A courageous decision I say! Listening (and hearing) your body and your family is very wise – more people should be brave enough to do this 🙂

  4. Katherine Lyall-Watson August 31, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    Thank you so much for the lovely comments. Into the thick of it all today and hopefully surfacing for a breather and some more wonderful plays very soon.

  5. Diane September 1, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Katherine, – no one in their right mind could be hard on you for the decision you have made. IT IS THE RIGHT DECISION and certainly doesn’t reflect on you. Except perhaps your personal trap of taking on too much!

Leave a Reply

