52: Disco Pigs

12 May

Enda Walsh has written a raw, gutsy play using language that’s so broken and strange that it could be a foreign tongue.

Disco Pigs

Disco Pigs is about two seventeen year olds: Pig and Runt (at least those are the names they call themselves). They were born within minutes of each other in the same hospital, grew up next door to each other and their intense friendship turned sexual at some point before the start of the play. They believe they remember their births and the moment they first made eye contact from their bassinets.

RUNT: Our two mams all sweety an stinkin a new born babas n’ blood! I member open an look my eyes and ja see a liddle baba in the nex bed. An dat liddle baba he look righ inta me, yeah. Our mams all da full of happy but da new babys say an do no-ting. We look cross da liddle-big space tween da beds … I see own him and he own see me. Deez liddle babies need no-ting else. So off home we go all packed! An da baby houses side by side la! … an birrday in birrday out … us togedder. An peeplah call me Sinead and call Pig Darren but one day we war playin in da playroom be-an animols on da farm an Darren play da Pig and I play da Runt! An dat wuz it!

By the time we meet them, Pig and Runt are playing games involving robbery, violence and intimidation, thinking they’re an Irish Bonnie and Clyde.

It took me a while to grasp Walsh’s use of language. Once I started to hear the lines in my head, the play came to life. It’s dark and brutal but filled with earthy humour and joy. By the end you can see that this closely knit relationship is strangling both young people.

I’d like to see it staged. It reminded me a little bit of Angela Betzien’s Hoods.

Publisher: Nick Hern Books

Cast: 1M, 1F

Leave a Reply

